Spare Thoughts

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

That’s just about as cliché as some “words of wisdom” can get ain’t it? I mean over the years I’ve seen or heard that quote on posters, bumper stickers, t-shirts, crappy motivational and (not always crappy) valedictorian speeches; you name it. It’s so prevalent in America’s “you can be whatever you set your mind to” culture that I don’t even have include who spoke these words to validate it in your minds, as that all of you have seen it more than enough times to recognize the Chinese proverb (but if you’re drawing a blank, it was Lao-tzu). But before the pseudo-hipster within me scoffs in disregard at the overused adage, I must first recognize how it came to reach this oversaturated immortality:

Because, pure and simple, it’s a damn-good metaphor for an even better piece of advice.

View original post 1,560 more words

